Take minutes off your cleaning schedule

If you were to Google “best cleaning shortcuts” you’d probably come up with a bunch of sites with advice like “clean up as you go!” and “fold laundry while you watch TV!”  If  had time to clean up as I went, my house would be spotless.  As for using my relaxation time at the end of the day for MORE chores?  No thanks.  

Over the past few years I have come up with several REAL time savers that are easy and quick.  Most of them are no-brainers, but if you’re anything like me (hello, mommy brain!), you’ll read some of these and kick yourself for not thinking of it sooner.  

  • Buy drop-in toilet cleaners.  Seriously.  Even if your toilet isn’t 100% clean, it still looks like it and if you have company coming over in 15 minutes, you have way more important things to be doing than scrubbing the ring in your toilet. 
  • Throw out your broom.  “But I have linoleum/tile/hardwood floors!” you say.  So?  Slap that Dyson on the bare floor setting and go.  So you might look a little weird vacuuming your kitchen.  Who cares!  At least you don’t have to deal with the dirt particles playing peek-a-boo with the dustpan.  They even make special vacuums for bare floors now and they’re not that expensive.
  • Keep a tub of cleaning wipes in your bathroom.  That way you’re not running back and forth to the kitchen or pantry or wherever you keep your supplies every time you want to wipe down your counter or your husband peed on the seat (again).  I love Clorox Disinfecting Wipes because they’re antibacterial and they smell good. 
  • Figure out where the major Points of Interests (POIs) in your house are.  When you walk into your house, what’s the first thing you see?  Your sofa?  Make sure the pillows are always straightened.  The staircase?  Always keep it picked up or buy a cute stair basket to stow toys or shoes that make their way to the staircase throughout the day.  The broad expanse of white carpeting?  Vacuum, baby.  What about your kitchen?  The first thing I see when walking into my kitchen is the sink.  I’ve found if the sink is empty by the time my husband comes home, he barely notices if the rest of the kitchen looks like I held a cooking show for trolls.  Don’t hesitate to ask your good friends what they notice when entering your house.  Tell them to be honest!
  • Clean your shower while you shower.  I keep a bottle of shower cleaner and a sponge on a shelf in the stall and every time I get in there I spray and scrub.  I do this BEFORE I clean myself, otherwise I feel gross and like I need to wash again.  This is an awesome excuse to spend a few more minutes under the hot water.
  • Don’t underestimate the power of stank.  Buy a candle, some spray or my new favorite, the Febreze Flameless Luminaries.  They’re a little pricey initially, but the refills aren’t bad.  It’s really pretty, safe to have around kids and with scents like Green Tea Citrus, Cranberry Pear and Willow Blossom, they smell awesome.

 

 

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Leslie on February 3, 2010 at 3:49 AM

    I used to clean the shower while in the shower in Basic and AIT! I never thought about doing it now, but I just might start! Awesome blog, by the way. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

