When running errands becomes your full time job

In the past week I’ve had five doctors appointments. Count ’em- FIVE. On top of these appointments I had to take my daughter to school, go grocery shopping, get gas (I haven’t been that close to empty in a while!) and make sure I had the kids to daycare in time to make it to the hospital. I feel like I haven’t been at home all week! As a result, my house has suffered. I’m about 3 loads behind in laundry, my sink is full of dishes waiting to be transferred to the dishwasher and my kids’ puzzle pieces seem to have exploded across the entire house. I’m exhausted from running all over town, but the sight of my house makes me want to walk right back out the door.

The easiest solution for me is to start a load of laundry. I generally don’t mind doing laundry. It’s the folding I detest! But the wonderful thing about laundry is that you can throw a load in and walk away.

Next we’ll go to the front door. Step outside, close the door and just enjoy some fresh air for a moment. Now open the door. What’s the first thing you see when you walk into your house? Clean it.

Now go to the room you spend the most time in. If it’s the living room, vacuum. This is doubly good- you have to pick up before you can vacuum the floor. If it’s the office, clean off your desk. If it’s the kitchen, clean your largest counter and/or your sink (this includes dishes, woman!).

Chances are by this time you’re ready to stop. That’s okay. At least you got some major stuff done! The most important places in your home to clean (for aesthetic reasons) are the room that you see when you first enter the house and the room you spend the most time in. That way you’re always company ready and you don’t feel overwhelmed in your own house. These are two things that will lower your stress and make you more likely to keep cleaning and not feel hopeless and give up!

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Maria on March 6, 2010 at 3:34 PM

    Very true, although sometimes it is still hard to put into action. Good job on the blogs, I had no idea.
    I think you should do a blog on how watching a chick flick with a friend helps to reduce stress 🙂
    Miss you.
    Maria

    Reply

Leave a Reply

