Spice it up

Every once in a while I start feeling guilty for feeding the kids the same old breakfast over and over. They don’t seem to mind- in fact, they request it- but sometimes you just have to shake things up a bit and do something special. I usually end up making pancakes or belgian waffles, since pulling out the griddle or the waffle maker is enough hassle to legitimately call breakfast “special” and they’re both something the kids will actually eat without complaining. No plain old pancake mix for us, though. I’ve found a few “secret ingredients” that make these goodies just a tad better.

First I pour out the recommended amount of pancake mix, plus some. If they say 2 cups, I’ll add 3 since I like to make my pancakes on the larger side. Then I put in one of those individual serving size cups of applesauce (or two!). If you buy the big jugs of applesauce, pour in a half cup to a cup. Add a healthy sprinkling of pumpkin pie spice or mix up your own spices like cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice and ground clove. Now here’s the kicker. Don’t add water, add apple juice. This gives it an extra apply flavor. It won’t be overpowering, I promise. You wont need as much liquid as you normally would because of the applesauce, so I usually don’t measure at this point, I just eyeball it until it’s the right consistancy. If you’re feeling a little nutty, a half cup of chopped pecans can be added. Cook and enjoy!

Click Click! Here’s a coupon for Betty Crocker Bisquick Pancake Mix

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by christina on June 16, 2010 at 9:42 AM

    Oh goodness. I must try this! YUM!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

