Cover yourself up!

I’m a messy cook. I can’t really blame this one on my new front-heavy figure; pregnant or not, I can’t stir, scoop or serve without spilling something. It’s a running joke in my family that if I haven’t spilled something during the cooking, I might as well go shirtless for the eating because I’m bound to wind up with a lap full of pasta sauce. Tired of changing my shirt three times a day, I finally pulled out one of my old aprons. I have several from my Rainbow Girl days- I would cover a plain white dress with a fancy or fun apron to change the look from event to event. My two favorites are an old fashion style apron with a strawberry print and a frilly green one with cute cartoon frogs in stocking caps. I forgot how cute they are, but most importantly how well they do their job. My yellow shirt has nary a stain or splotch of the Italian crock pot chicken I’m making for dinner. So come on, Perfect Housewives! Let’s bring back aprons! They’re easy to make, but if sewing isn’t your thing, try Amazon.com. I like this one.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Mommy on June 20, 2010 at 2:51 PM

    I soooooo need an apron! My grandma was going to be making me one but I think it’s time I just bust one out myself!! šŸ˜€

    Reply

  2. Posted by Pat Hidalgo on June 20, 2010 at 5:46 PM

    Love reading your articles. Love your “voice” keep up the good words.
    Wendy, Trish and I wear aprons too. Not as cute as the one you highlighted though.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

